I am a member of a weekly writing group. We meet on a Thursday night, or have done up until this week. Last week we decided to meet on Monday night instead, so that one of the members who’s work kept him unavailable now on Thursday nights, could attend.

I was fine with this new arrangement, and set off on Monday evening to meet up with two other members to then journey on to the home where the meeting would be held.   It was a good plan…

The reality, however, was not good. I was on the Gawler bypass, travelling in a southerly direction, when I ran over some truck tyre debris. I lost my steering and hit the safety fencing in the centre of the road, thereby avoiding a terrible crash. Instead my car spun around and I ended up stopped on the other side of the road, the passenger side, where it was safe.

I saw a car pull up behind and I stayed there, thinking about the situation. I was unhurt, but I was sure the car was damaged. The wonderful woman who stopped came over to my car and invited me to go and sit in her car while she rang the police. I was happy to do as she suggested.

The woman, told me she was Amy, I told her my name and we both waited for the police. Amy said she saw the whole thing, and the accident wasn’t my fault. Another woman arrived and then another man. The second woman was Maggie and the man’s name may have been Roger, I’m not sure. All of them were lovely and helpful. Roger cleared away the bits that had fallen from my car.

When the police officer arrived, Amy told him what she saw. He asked me what happened, and he called the ambulance. Two ambos arrived eventually and checked me out. They were prepared to take me to the hospital if I felt I needed it. I said I felt was physically OK and was told to call them again if I felt worse at all.

All of these people were lovely, and I wasn’t made to feel a fault at all. I was left with only the police officer eventually. We waited for my husband Graham to arrive, and the tow truck to arrive too. The car was completely unable to be driven.

I had rung my writing group to tell them I wasn’t coming to the meeting, and the reason why. I also rang my husband so he could come and take me home.

The writing group often sets a theme for the  next meeting, and I was amused the following day to find out the theme was going to be ‘Cars’. I certainly have a few new things to write about cars.

As a writer, I take my life’s experiences and use them in my writing. I’m thinking about cars right now, the thoughts spinning around in my head like my car was spinning around on the road on Monday night. I’m glad a few things from Monday night – I was wearing my seat belt, the safety fence did its job well, I wasn’t injured, no-one else was involved and I met some lovely people.

Now I just have to wait for my insurance company to decide what happens with the car, and my life can get back to normal. I’m glad to have told this story – always wear your seat belt when you’re in the car!

 

 

