When having a lengthy conversation with someone you know only slightly, it’s not really easy to know how much to believe of what they say. I had such a conversation today with a person I’ve known on a first name basis only, over four or five years.

The conversation took place in the pub where I’ve seen him and said hello to him over the years, without saying all that much in the past. This man was drinking beer, I was drinking coffee. ‘Joe’ (not his real name) invited me to sit and chat for a while, after the meeting I’d been having with a friend/colleague broke up, and she went home.

Joe told me a little about what he did for a living – registered nurse in an Intensive Care Unit. I hadn’t known this, I hadn’t ever thought about what he might do for a living, in the past. Joe went on to talk about the other nurses where he worked, politics and gun laws.

Much of what Joe said seemed to me to be sexist and racist, and he certainly seemed not to like women much, or the government, either the current one or the opposition. Joe professed to only liking one politician, Gough Whitlam, who’s long gone.

I’m not sure what Joe’s level of inebriation was, but I certainly don’t think he was particularly drunk. I also don’t know Joe well enough to know whether he was talking the truth as he saw it, or was just seeing how far he could go, to judge how I’d take it.

After talking for a while, in response to a question, I told Joe I was married and had been for nearly 27 years. I also indicated I love my husband and wouldn’t go against the vows I made when I married. There was a lot more to the conversation than this, and I’m not sure where further conversations might go, but I’m glad that most of the times I’m at this hotel in the future, and there will be many times, my friends will also be there…

Joe indicated he found me attractive, and I find that statement puzzling. Why on earth would a man say that to a woman who has indicated she’s not available, and who has given no indication they are interested in anything more than a friendly conversation…

Life is a curious thing – men are odd creatures! Thoughts from others on this are most welcome!

