I’m thinking about ethics at the moment. Today, something happened in my backyard that made me ponder the rightness of not doing something, that perhaps I should have done something about.

The ‘something’ was Lah Dee, our male Pharaoh Hound, grabbing a crested pigeon, killing it and then eating it. I know it’s perfectly natural for dogs, particularly hunting breeds, to catch and eat other creatures. If the bird had been a sparrow or starling, I wouldn’t have thought about it much at all, probably.

But crested pigeons are a native species of bird, and I like having native birds on our garden. Of course, the birds deserve to live their lives unmolested. Or do they? Do our dogs, who are fed daily and are certainly not hungry as such, deserve to be allowed to indulge in following their instinct to hunt? Lah Dee had eaten his dinner not long before he caught the bird, so he wouldn’t have still been hungry.

I’m still thinking about this, and I feel the need for input from other people on this one. Would it have been the most ethical thing for me to interfere and set the crested pigeon free? Or is it more ethical to simply let Nature take its course. 

I need feedback!

