My poem for today is certainly a new poem written today, the 16th day of April. But the prompt for the poem and the first line (changed only slightly) was a writing exercise given to members of North Eastern Writers, to read at the next meeting (or maybe that was for the meeting I missed, which was the AGM.

Anyway, it doesn’t really matter – there’s no teacher there to give me a ‘D’ or fail me, and a poem has been written by me today, so that’s a good thing, right? RIGHT!

The writing task, as far as I understand it, was to write a poem with that famous story starter “It was a dark and stormy night” and then continue on, without using the letter ‘E’. I was waiting for my husband today, after a meeting at the SA Writers’ Centre, got out my iPhone thingo and started writing. After some thought and editing, I created a poem, without using the letter ‘E’. 

Woohoo! (if you spot the letter ‘E’ in the poem that I’ve missed, please let me know, so I can fix it. I’ve checked, and it all seems good. The letter ‘E’ is used in so many useful and ordinary words, I missed it quite a bit. Challenging, but good for writers!

Here it is:

It’s a dark and stormy night –

I sit, as still as still.

Rain and hail pour down,

my cat’s on my lap

 

dog on floor,

all trying to stay warm,

but with cold

hanging around, icy stiff.

 

Why do dark and stormy nights

show up, making my days

and nights gloomy,

though my craving is for warmth?

 

Will glorious sun show up,

thawing us out,

or will this horrid cold

Always haunt us?

 

So what do you think? Are you game enough to give it a go?

