I have known I have MS (multiple sclerosis) since February 2010. After a collapse, and tests, including an MRI scan, my new neurologist was able to tell me I had MS.

This could have made me give up on life, and stop being a part of my community. Instead, it showed me the wonders of being a part of my community! There are wonderful people out there, and most of them are more than happy to help others. I’ve benefited from the kindness of others in many ways, and it has strengthened my commitment to being kind to others.

Part of that ‘being kind’, is to write the book I wanted when I was diagnosed with MS. I wanted an easy to read book from the point of view of an ordinary person living with MS, so I could see how other people came to terms with the various challenges this disease gives.

Because I am a poet and writer, writing this book, a memoir seemed an obvious thing for me to do. And because I like a bit of a challenge with my creative writing, I decided to write my memoir in verse. I got serious with the writing of this memoir last year, gaining funds with a grant from the Richard Llewellyn Arts and Disability Trust. The funds received is to pay a mentor to assist me with the ‘verse’ part of my verse memoir. My mentor, Ray Tyndale has been fantastic. I know she has helped me immensely with this writing project. If my verse memoir isn’t up to scratch, it’s entirely my fault, not hers!

I’ll report back when I have more news about the launch date of my memoir. I hope it will be a useful book for those living with MS, and those who would like to know more about what it’s like to be living with this chronic illness.

 

