After some hard work by one family member to keep the back lawn alive and well during our recent heat wave (many thanks to my husband Graham), we’ve now had an absolute deluge compliments of Nature. Our back lawn is looking lovely and green, and our trees, shrubs and flowers are looking wonderful! This free rain is always a welcome surprise, until it becomes a flood.

At the moment, we’re certainly not needing to worry about flooding. So far, our house has always been fine, water-wise. The front driveway may be an upclose water feature, but the liquid is reamining outside, with none coming in with us! The birds have a large variety of places to go for water at the moment, from the two bird baths we have, the dog’s water bowls outside, the driveway lake and the swimming pool.

We have lorikeets in our flowering gum trees at the moment too, which is always exciting (yes, I’m one of those ‘twitchers’ – bird lovers). I spent several days during the heat wave out on our back veranda, trying to work out which kind of lorikeets they were in the trees. But I couldn’t get close enough for a positive ident, because I didn’t want to get overheated from the scorching sun.

But then the weather changed, the cooler weather and then rain meant I could get much closer, and could work out from their markings that we had Musk Lorikeets in our flowering gums. There may be another, smaller type of lorikeet there too, but other things have got my attention now. Later on I may check. The weather is still lovely and cool, and it would be a bit of a shame if I don’t do my ‘Twitcher’ task with the seriousness it deserves!

I have muffins planned though. Banana muffins. With Walnuts, and other Yummy things! I’ve taken the black bananas out of the freezer where they’ve been hiding, and when they’ve defrosted, I’ll turn them, along with the things I’ve already got out, plus a few other things, into yummy muffins! Yay, I love bananas that have been cooked! These bananas are Lady Finger bananas that were left too long, and ripened to much, so that nobody wanted to eat them.

I grabbed them though, and put them in the freezer, always intending them to reach their utmost glory days, as the main ingredient for Banana Muffins! Another banana delicacy I’ve been thinking about lately is banana pancakes, in particular ones with maple syrup and a side of bacon, at the Java Hut in Gawler. The bacon added to this dish makes it totally awesome, and I hope, hope, hope it will happen on Monday!

Does anyone else have thoughts on cooking with bananas? I’d love to hear about it if you do! Now I have to go and turn the oven on, Banana Muffins want to be made!

