Well, in reality, it’s really only exciting for me, the other family members aren’t terribly interested in my writing life. That’s OK, we all have our own things we’re interested in, with only a few crossovers where we all get excited about things (lawn bowls that one … and the season is over for the year.)

Anyway, my writing friends who know about it are excited, or those that aren’t will be, once they hear about it … Anyway, the exciting thing is that “Doggone It! Mindfulness from a Dog’s Point of View”, the second book in the Buster series of books, is with the printer, and should be well and truly ready for the Gawler Festival of Words, when it will be launched! Yay, hooray!

This second book is different from the first one, on subject. The first book, “Dig It! Gardening Tips for Dogs”, is obviously about gardening, and “Doggone It” is about Mindfulness as a dog may see it. The text is written by Buster again (with help from me) and the illustrations are again done by my friend Allyson Hean. I’m very happy with the way she has shown Buster to us again, she really seems to understand him.

I have a new person following this blog, and in view of that I am happy to let people know that no cats were harmed in the writing of this book! None were actually harmed in the writing of “Dig It!” either, but the implication was there … I have four dogs, and I know a kitty cat wouldn’t last long if the youngest three of them got hold of it. They’re sight hounds, and if that can catch, they will eat it, or try to anyway.

The other dog is a schnauzer, quite old, a bit deaf and can’t see very well. A cat would probably be quite safe with her, she might in fact be in danger from a feisty cat. I know that all breeds of dog can learn to live with cats, but it’s not an easy thing to do, unless you’re dealing with youngsters.

Anyway, that’s my news – the book I worked on for some time, at my favourite cafe – Poetic Justice Cafe Gallery in Gawler, is finally approaching its glory time, the time people flock to that very same cafe to buy themselves a copy, perhaps a copy of the first book too (as a special launch day deal). I will be there to sign the book/s and all will be happy. I love cafes, and books and festivals with words as the most important thing!

 

