I am a person who likes dogs and also likes to be in her garden. Most of the work in our garden is done by my husband, or with the tall trees we have, by others before we moved to our home.

I watch our dogs though, quite a lot and I like to think about them, and other dogs. I like to do some easy things in the garden too, at times. Mostly I like to sit on the front or more usually back veranda and just look at the things out there. Trees, grass, insects, plants, clouds and of course our four dogs.

I’m sure lots of people would say similar things to me. I’m perhaps a little bit unusual because I write a blog about these things, and I have also written a book about gardening from a dog’s point of view. It was make believe, of course, I pretended I was a dog, thought about how dogs might think about gardening, and just wrote and wrote until I had enough text to make a book, after my clever friend did some great illustrations.

I self-published this book, “Dig It! Gardening Tips for Dogs”

me and the boys

Photo from back when the first print run of my first self-published book came out. “Dig It! Gardening Tips for Dogs”

years ago, but I still manage to sell another copy every now and then. I haven’t sole thousands of copies, but that doesn’t matter. What I did in fact, was to follow up that first book with another book “Doggone It – Mindfulness from a Dog’s Point of View”, also illustrated by the same person. This book was also written from that dog’s point of view, and the particular dog is the one that lives inside my head, Buster. Buster is a combination of the two breeds of dogs we have, and he’s a fun guy to be around, I enjoy doing these things with him.

Buster and I are working on our next book at the moment. This book will be called “Dog Buddha’s Thoughts” and is quite a different looking book, (I think). There will be a few illustrations again (not as many), and it will be a longer book. This is if all things go to plan, of course. My plan is that I will finish writing the text before the end of March, then send the text off to the illustrator. After they come back, I’ll put the book together then get as many copies as I can printed. I will hold a book launch for this book in July, during the Adelaide Plains Festival of Words 2017.

