Yesterday I took advantage of the nearly empty house, and so free computer, and got stuck in (finally) to work on Book Three \in the Buster the Dog series, entitled “Dog Buddha’s Thoughts”. It’s starting to take shape in a good way, although there is a little thing it’s doing that I don’t like. It’s a minor thing that I’m sure the person who will put together and print my book will be able to fix.

I’ve been doing clever things with dropbox, and editing the document on various devices, and I hope I’ve saved it enough times in enough places so it won’t suddenly disappear …I don’t like thinks disappearing when I though they were safely saved. It’s happened to me, and I certainly don’t want to lose this nearly finished book.

I say ‘nearly finished’ but there are still quite a few thousand words to write. I feel in control of the material though, I know what sort of thing I have to write, and a couple of solid days would be enough to get it done well enough to send to others for their part of this book making process.

Making a book is never a solo thing. At the very least, there is the future reader there with you. I have my lovely friends helping me, one with illustrations again, the other with a foreword, and I am looking forward to the time I can hand over the manuscript for both of them to do their bits, and give me feedback on the book.

This process is fun, frustrating, and sometimes frightening. What if this book is no good at all? What if no-one gets the humour I’m aiming for? I am not a Buddhist, what if my words are offensive to those of that religion? If it caused a huge uproar, and was offensive to all, even though it would bring attention to the book, I would certainly not be happy …

But that time isn’t here yet, I hope my friend who is writing the foreword can let me know how she feels about it. If it offends her, I hope we can work out some way to get around that. She has read some parts of it, and didn’t indicate any problems, so fingers crossed.

Being a writer can be a worrying thing at times. Being with friends who are also writers, and who understand the good and bad times is great. Being understood is a fine thing …

Here are a couple of parts from “Dog Buddha’s Thoughts” – Please tell be what you think about it, leave a comment below.

The first part of each section is from The Dog Buddha, the second bit is from Buster the Dog who is writing this book with me.

“The unkempt lawn gives the best back rubs …

There’s nothing better on a sunny day than to be outside on the lawn, rolling and rolling on the grass. And the best kind of lawn, the lawn that feels the best on your back, is not a perfect just-mown lawn, oh no. As the Dog Buddha says, the best lawn is the unkempt lawn, the lawn with lumps and bumps that knead your back like the best massage ever!”

“Old bone hidden, new bone bidden

The wise dog knows the truth of this one, yum! When a human sees the whitened old bone in the backyard, or hidden behind the sofa, they will often throw the treasure out, not understanding the truth of the whole of the process with bones. Live, dead, loved, donated. These four stages happen as they were always meant to happen, and only the unknowing ones seek to change the foreordained timing of the way of life to death and then back to life.”

